Oppression and Listicles

Valentine

http://everydayfeminism.com/2016/05/call-out-accountability/

This article has been going around with the [REDACTED] leftists

Peter

Skimming this I mostly agree

I want dislike the way these things are written though

It’s just very… Elitist?

Presumptuous maybe

Even when talking to their own people is very “I know better”

Valentine

I feel like the tone of this is pretty fair

It’s obviously trying to be prescriptive, but the prescription is “pls don’t be a dick” and it’s aiming at an understanding tone

“Hey, we’ve all been there. But make sure you don’t xyz.”

You can’t make any claims about anything without staking some authority right

In unrelated news, I subscribed to /r/LateStageCapitalism and /r/FULLCOMMUNISM and now my Reddit feed is entirely about seizing the memes of production

Peter

Maybe I just don’t like words like oppression being presented in listicle form

Valentine

If the internet is the public forum, listicles are the language of the vox populi

Peter

I feel that it cheapens the word a bit

Fear*

Valentine

they’re using the word to talk about “activism against oppression” though

Rather than calling the people whose behavior they’re critiquing here “oppressors”

Peter

No I understand. I’m just saying that… Like imagine a listicle about the Holocaust

It leaves a bad taste in my mouth

When I think oppression, I’m like “this probly should be treated with more respect”

Valentine

I mean it’s not a listicle about oppression, it’s a listicle about call-outs I mean

*idk why there’s an I mean at the end there

But yeah I get what you’re saying

E.g. “SIX REASONS WHY ECONOMIC INEQUALITY IS GROWING AND THE WORKING CLASS ARE INCREASINGLY BEING LEFT BEHIND! NUMBER FIVE WILL SHOCK YOU”

Peter

Yea exactly

 

Leave a Reply

